Minutes of a Meeting of **Teignmouth Town Council**

Held at Bitton House, Teignmouth on Tuesday, 16th May, 2023 at 6.00 pm

Present:

Councillors I Palmer (Chair), J Atkins (Chairman), D Cox, C Williams, P Lloyd, S Miller, S Walsh, L Chasteau, M Jackman, J Jackson, C Myers and V Rudge

Absent:

Councillors R Phipps

In attendance:

Iain Wedlake Debbie Shaw

Public Participation:

There was no public participation

The following minutes will be considered for approval at the next meeting of the Town Council and may be subject to change until that time.

Part I

10 USE OF MOBILE PHONES

11 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

An apology for absence was received from Cllr R Phipps. An apology for lateness was also received from Cllr S Walsh who hoped to arrive by 18:45.

Resolved that the apologies be noted.

12 ELECTION OF CHAIR/MAYOR

Election of Mayor for 2023-2024

The retiring Mayor will call for nominations and put them to the vote.

Cllr D Cox left the room at 18:37.

Cllr J Atkins proposed Cllr C Williams; seconded by Cllr M Jackman – carried 7-2 with 2 x against

- A Declaration of Acceptance of Office by the newly elected Mayor The Mayor signed the Declaration of Acceptance
- B Presentation of Chain of Office from the retiring Mayor to the newly elected Mayor
- C Presentation Medal to retiring Mayor
- D New Mayor's Acceptance Speech

13 ADDRESS BY RETIRING MAYOR

lain Palmer, the former Mayor, gave a retiring address.

14 ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR FOR 2023-24

Cllr C Williams

Proposed: Cllr M Jackman, Seconded: Cllr V Roach

15 DECLARATION OF ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE AND PRESENTATION OF MEDALLION TO THE DEPUTY MAYOR

The Deputy Mayor signed the Declaration of Acceptance.

16 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

None were received.

17 DISPENSATIONS

There were no dispensations.

18 MINUTES OF THE FULL COUNCIL MEETING HELD ON 18TH APRIL 2023

Members considered the minutes of the Council meeting held on 18th April 2023 and were approved and adopted.

Proposed: Cllr C Williams, Seconded: Cllr D Cox – All in favour x 3 – remainder abstained as not present.

19 MINUTES OF EXTRAORDINARY FULL COUNCIL 26TH APRIL 2023

Members considered the minutes of the Extraordinary Town Council meeting held on 26th April 2023 and were approved and adopted.

Proposed: Cllr C Williams, Seconded: Cllr J Atkins – All in favour x 2 – remainder abstained as not present.

20 CLERKS REPORT

Agreed the following dates:

State of Administration – Tuesday 23rd May 2023 Parish Meeting – Thursday 25th May 2023

21 SCHEDULE OF MEETINGS 2023-24

Approved the Council's schedule of initial meetings for the municipal year beginning 1 May 2023: -

Full council 18:00 2nd Tuesday of each month excluding August (Recess)

Planning 15:30 24th May 2023 every three weeks in advisory capacity

Finance 15:30 22nd June 2023 - quarterly

Assets & Facilities 15:30 22nd May 2023

Parish Meeting 19:30 25th May 2023

22 ELECTIONS TO COMMITTEES

i. Full Council – sovereign body
Chair – Cllr J Atkins - All Councilors

ii. Planning Committee – standing committee

Cllrs R Phipps, S Walsh and M Jackman

iii. Finance including budget & grants

Cllr C Williams, Cllrs J Atkins, L Chasteau, M Jackman, V Rudge, J Jackson

iv. Human Resources Committee – standing committee

Cllr C Williams, J Jackson, S Miller, C Myers, S Walsh

v. Assets and Facilities Sub-Committee (to include CCTV, public conveniences, Bitton House and campus)

Mayor, Cllr J Atkins, Deputy Mayor Cllr C Williams, Cllrs P Lloyd, V Rudge, M Jackman, S Miller. With the Town Clerk and Project and Facilities Manager.

vi. Tree Warden

Cllr S Miller

vii. Christmas Lights Switch-on Task and Finish Group

Cllrs C Williams, P Lloyd and V Rudge

viii. Fireworks Display Task and Finish Group

Joint event with Shaldon – Shaldon to organize fireworks and we will pay half. Teignbridge to close car park Cllrs S Miller, C Myers, M Jackman and Chasteau

ix. Air Quality Task and Finish Group

Cllrs P Lloyd and S Walsh, Ms R Piper, Dr M McCarthy and Mr J Lintell

Proposed: Cllr S Miller, Seconded: Cllr P Lloyd - Unanimous

23 APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE BODIES

i. Harbour Consultative Committee

Cllrs R Phipps with Cllr M Jackman as reserve

ii. Teign Estuary & Coastal Partnership Steering Group

Cllr R Phipps with Cllr S Walsh as reserve

iii. Julia Cousins Trust

Tim Golder as trustee

iv. Devon Association of Local Councils

Cllr P Lloyd

v. Teignbridge Association of Local Councils

Cllr P Lloyd

vi. Town Centre Management Partnership

Cllrs L Chasteau and V Rudge

vii. Mary Risdon Charity

Mrs Russell, Tim Golder & Damian Pope, all as trustees

viii. Soup Kitchen Trust

Cllr Andrew McGregor (TDC)

ix. Teign Heritage

Cllr R Phipps with Cllr C Myers as reserve

x. Teignmouth in Bloom

Cllr P Lloyd, Stewart Henchie & Viv Wilson MBE

xi. Teignmouth Remembrance Committee

Cllr D Cox, P Williams, Brian Hall MBE and Vince Fusco

xii. Teignmouth Neighbourhood Plan

Cllrs J Atkins and S Walsh, Ms J Orme and Mrs S Russell

xiii. Coastal Engagement Group

Cllr C Myers

xiv. Civil Emergency

Chair and Clerk to review requirements with TDC

xv. OPCC Advocate Scheme

Cllr J Atkins

xvi. Anne Marie Morris' Forum

Town Clerk

xvii. Teignmouth Hospital Stakeholder panel

Cllr J Jackson

xviii. Teignmouth Chamber of Commerce (Nonmember/trader)

Cllr C Williams with reserve Cllr J Atkins

Proposed: Cllr C Myers, Seconded: Cllr L Chasteau – voted en bloc - Unanimous

24 STANDING ORDERS 5J (I-XXI)

The Council is recommended to defer the actions and reviews required by Standing Orders 5J – i-xxi not covered in this meeting to a future meeting of the Town Council.

Proposed: Cllr S Miller, Seconded: Cllr J Jackson - Unanimous

The meeting was closed by the Mayor at 8.25 pm

Cllr Joan Atkins
MAYOR OF TEIGNMOUTH